P.S I Still Love You

20130705-144905.jpg

It’s been a few years now since I read P.S. I Love You so I couldn’t remember it clearly when I watched the film but I found it all coming back to me as I watched Hilary Swank & Gerard Butler.

This is a heartbreaking film about what it’s like to have to go on with life after losing your soul mate. Holly’s husband Gerry has passed away and in order to help his wife pick up the pieces and carry on with life he leaves her 10 letters, to be delivered at different points of her first year without him.

We see Holly tentatively rejoin the world after dealing with her grief and are with her every step of the way as she goes on her first nights out, rediscover her career aspirations, spend her first holiday without Gerry and even considering dating again. All with the words of her lost love Gerry guiding her on.

A real jam packed star cast including Harry Connick Jr, Hilary Swank, Gerard Butler, Kathy Bates, Lisa Kudrow this film was really geared to be successful and it is. My stepson told me it was guaranteed to make me cry and I strongly said because I’d read the book and knew what was coming I’d be fine but I still found myself needing the tissues at the end.

This entry was posted in Movie Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

