A favourite film I refound under a different name

20130705-135530.jpg
I have been searching for this film for some time now. When I owned it on VHS it had the title ‘The Honest Courtesan’ and I couldn’t track it down on DVD then flicking through Amazon I managed to track it down and am delighted to have added it to my collection again.

The one thing that has remained with me about this film is it’s sheer decadence of filmography relaying the splendour of Venice during the life of Veronica Franco. It is highly colourful and beautiful and the soundtrack from the film has remained a top favourite on my ipod for many years now.

A truly beautiful and touching story about a womans struggle to remain connected to her true love after his marriage through her life as a courtesane. The acting by Catherine McCormack is wonderful as we watch her transform into an independent and beautiful woman from that of a rather shy and obstinate young girl at the start. If you liked Cassanova then this one might be for you.

This entry was posted in Movie Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

